skip navigation
Home Stats Calendar News Documents Board Links Donate Contact


04/28/2009, 6:56pm MDT

Here are the nominees for awards during the 2008-09 Season.  Awards will be handed out at the Awards Banquet on May 22nd.

Ian Butters Memorial Award - League MVP

Sean Bons (Knights), Nathan Grossklaus (Thunder), Kevin Phillips (Vipers)

Ian Butters Memorial Award - Most Outstanding Defenseman

Jack Bedford (Knights), Keith Bourbonnais (Vipers), Brodie Boychuk (Demons)

Most Outstanding Goaltender

Jeff Barrett (Thunder), Robert Donnelly (Demons), Mike Jorgensen (Vipers)

Most Outstanding Rookie
David Chalmers (Knights), Todd Lindsay (Knights), Parker Petruska (Vipers)

Murray & Larry Hodgson Memorial Award - Most Sportsmanlike Player
Nathan Grossklaus (Thunder), David Huckell (Demons), Kevin Phillips (Vipers)

Most Improved Forward
Joseph Afonso (Thunder), Ryan Kostiuk (Thunder), Ben Thorne (Vipers)

Josi Parrotta Memorial Award - Most Improved Defenseman / Goaltender
Brodie Boychuk (Demons), Taylor Eveleigh (Thunder), David Huckell (Demons)

Steve Shelvey Memorial Award - The Spirit of PowerHockey

Joseph Afonso (Thunder), Michael Blackwell (Vipers), Kevin Phillips (Vipers)

Most Outstanding Coach(s)
Todd Dyer/Marc Leboeuf (Demons), Glenn Margetts (Knights), Andrew Harris/Jim McGregor (Vipers)

Vipers Team MVP
Keith Bourbonnais, Mike Jorgensen, Kevin Phillips

Thunder Team MVP
Joseph Afonso, Jeff Barrett, Nathan Grossklaus

Demons Team MVP
Brodie Boychuk, Robert Donnelly, Gerald Doucette

Knights Team MVP
Jack Bedford, Sean Bons, Bart Gross


League Scoring Championship
Nathan Grossklaus (Thunder) - 54 Points

Todd Mitchell Memorial Award - League Assist Championship
Ryan Kostiuk (Thunder) - 16 Assists

Three Star Selection
1st - Sean Bons (Knights), 2nd - Nathan Grossklaus (Thunder), 3rd - Joseph Afonso (Thunder)

Tag(s): League News